In Search of the Seven Wonders of Wales


In Search of the Seven Wonders of Wales
Eirwen Shelbourne
ISBN 978-1-84494-63-9

In Search of the Seven Wonders of Wales is a guide to seven geographical locations, each of which has its own wonderous appeal, be it natural beauty, architectural masterpiece or religious influence. Each ‘wonder’, and the route taken to reach it, has its own interesting tales to tell. Both visitors to and residents of north Wales will gain an insight into the history, traditions and culture of the area by visiting each site, uncovering many hidden gems along the way. The ‘Wonders’ were first grouped together in an anonymous verse composed during the eighteenth century:

Pistyll Rhaeadr and Wrexham steeple,
Snowdon’s mountain without its people,
Overton Yew-trees, St Winifred’s Well,
Llangollen Bridge and Gresford bells.

This book takes the reader to the wonders by means of a series of drives, each of which can easily be achieved in one day, taking the traveller through numerous other locations that all have an attraction of their own.

The Author
Eirwen Shelbourne, a native of Penmaenrhos, Colwyn Bay, was educated at Abergele Grammar School and Cartrefle College, Wrexham. She taught in a number of schools in Denbighshire before becoming a lecturer at Yale College Wrexham until her retirement in 1996. She has lived in Wrexham since 1973 and now devotes much of her time to reading, writing, music, walking and photography.

Add to Basket:

Copyright © 2020 Bridge Books. Powered by Zen Cart
JSWEB Design and Hosting